The return of the Unspeakable Oath (and a new project)

So, back from the dead (or at least dead-ish) comes the Unspeakable Oath, the seminal Call of Cthulhu magazine of the 90s.   There have been rumblings of its return for some time now, especially in the wake of the shuttering of Worlds of Cthulhu.  I’m glad to see it return as there is a definite void (assuming The Black Seal continues to “nap”).  More info on the revivified Oath can be found here.

Since I am a glutton for punishment, I’ve decided to try my hand at crafting a submission (or two) for the Oath.  I dub these writings “Project 3”, though they will be far shorter than either Project 1 or Project 2 (and I think there are phone books shorter than Project 0) so they shouldn’t detract from my work on either of these pieces; I just couldn’t let a chance to get something in UO pass me by.

My thought it to do (yet again) another tome write-up (a la my piece on the Turner Codex), this time a certain tome from the library of Joseph Curwen… as the theme for the issue is “resurrection”.  I’ve done a survey of the game literature (nearly nothing) and the fiction (barely a bit more) and am now pondering (which is to say waiting for inspiration to strike) awaiting the arrival of a little more info from a helpful source.

Fun story- when I lived in Iowa I attempted to order issue 16/17 at my local hobby shop.  After waiting a few months and seeing that it had been released, I asked the clerk if it had arrived.  He apologized and said they’d not been able to get a copy… due in no small part to the fact they misunderstood the name of the magazine to be the Unspeakable Oaf.  Sigh.

Leave a Reply

