Generic excuse for not posting

As my reader has likely noticed I’ve been too busy to post any updates here on ‘Tomes’.  Sorry about that.  Between baby duties (feeding, changing, loving), household needs (baby gates everywhere), for-pay writing,  and, to be honest seasons 1-3 of Mad Men and Fallout 3: New Vegas, I have been otherwise occupied.

In honor of Dennis Detwiller’s first post in seven months to his fine blog, I figured I could at least post a bit today.

I’ve been up to a little in the world of gaming:

Fishing touches on my scenario “Shadow Alchemy” for Forgotten Corners of Lovecraft Country vol. 1 (aka The Aylesbury Book)

Reading manuscripts for several soon-to-be released (fingers crossed!) projects.  Now, I need to actually send comments on these books to their respective authors and publishers…. aka the hard part, not because I have criticism, but because that requires A) thinking and B) time to write.  If you are one of those people, my apologies.

Working on a Lovecraft Country endeavor, the details of which I can’t really discuss

and finally, working on a post about the importance of editing and feedback in the scenario writing process, thoughts on combat in CoC, and other sundry stuff.

Until the stars are right again,

WinstonP

One comment on “Generic excuse for not posting

  1. emjaymedwick says:

    I recently started a thread on the YSDC forums about challenges and techniques of writing original scenarios that might benefit from your input. More specifically, I’ve become interested in learning more about how people structure scenarios when publication is not necessarily the goal. Said another way, what are some of the more idiosyncratic techniques keepers might use to craft scenarios for their specific group of players rather than a theoretical gaming group? I brought up the idea of hybridized mind-mapping as a way of shaping the connections between events, clues and NPCs just as an example.

    The starting question was, perhaps, a bit too ingenuous and open-ended. The thread has evolved into a more general discussion of sandboxing vs. linear adventure design, using NPCs to guide the investigation and so on. It occurs to me that you, as a published writer/editor, might have an interesting perspective on the differences between designing scenarios for specific and general audiences. Or maybe that’s an entirely different thread. Your plate is obviously full right now, so I’m just throwing that out there for your consideration since it may touch upon the post you’re currently preparing on the scenario writing process.

    And, yes, baby duty comes first, as any parent knows. Fortunately you can watch Mad Men while changing diapers, as well I know from experience – although I do tend to lose track of what I’m doing while Christina Hendricks is on the screen.

    Keep up the good work. Looking forward to “Forgotten Corners.”

    Mike M.

Leave a Reply

