Whisperer (and no park…ness?) and fun with Spambots

I had the good fortune to heading down to Providence over the weekend to catch a double-feature of The Call of Cthulhu and The Whisperer in Darkness at the Cable Car Theater.  Before I dive into my Lovecraftian cinematic adventure, I wanted to share the latest computer-generated poetry to grace my spam filter-

I’m also writing to let you be aware of of the great discovery my cousin’s princess experienced reading through your site. She discovered such a lot of things, which included what it’s like to possess a great teaching mindset to get the mediocre ones with no trouble learn selected tricky matters. You undoubtedly exceeded visitors’ expectations. I appreciate you for offering  these productive, trusted, educational and also cool guidance on the topic to Mary.

Huh? I wish my cousin had a princess…

Now, on to Lovecraftian fun!  First off, I should have remembered that weekends, May through October, Providence hosts ‘Waterfire‘ an outdoor arts festival along the Providence River.  The double-feature was scheduled to start at 10 and I’d not allowed much time for delays (i.e. I was running late) so when I discovered downtown Providence was full of laughing families, all of whom had filled every convenient parking space near the theater.  I suspect there are not a lot of people with serious heart ailments living in Providence since I had to make a CON check to descend the hilly streets to the cinema.  After convincing the lone employee that, despite being 1/2 an hour late that I did indeed wish to see the double feature.  A quick visit to the concessions stand (err, counter) and I was ready to watch the movies…

Having already seen The Call of Cthulhu several times (including once in Providence previously), I wasn’t unhappy to come in at the climax of the film, as the poor doomed sailors reaching the ‘tomb’ of Cthulhu.  After the sailors had been eaten, Cthulhu impaled on a freighter, and our narrator driven mad by his discoveries our next film began… which for five minutes was The Call of Cthulhu again.  Ooops.

(Speaking of TCoC… I noticed in the ‘Thanks’ section of the credits of the film was one Nick Offerman, which a quick check on ye olde Yternette confirmed that it is the very same gent who plays Ron Swanson on Parks and Recreation.  Nifty!)

Now, after the break, my thoughts on The Whisperer in the Darkness

It was… okay.  Enjoyable even… but I didn’t love it as I did Cthulhu.  Part of it was the fact that they’d changed it to make it more dramatic.  The changes were not ones I would have made; it seemed more like a mediocre CoC scenario.  Some of the elements were telegraphed – oh look, a biplane!  At other points, the protagonist did things that I could simply not understand… for example, if Akeley’s farmhouse is full of firearms (such as the rack he stand in front of while debating what to do about the cult’s plans to open a gate to Yuggoth) why in the seven heads of Z’nyoph does he take a fricken’ brain cylinder with him instead of at least a pistol?!?  Oh lordy lou.

That being said, I thought the acting was generally adequate to good and while I thought the Mi-Go (why did the Vermonters use that name??) were a bit too ‘Starship Troopers‘ for my taste, I think the rest of the FX work, especially the props and brain cylinders, were fantastic.  I suggest they start selling radios or MP3 players in the shape of the brain cylinder.

I certainly recommend seeing the film, of course.  The HPLHS do a yeomans’ job of keeping Lovecraft alive and are to be admired.  Plus, their props and fonts kick serious ass.

Leave a Reply

