Turkey, Folklore, etc.

What’s Thanksgiving without a sentient cyclopean mutant killer chicken?

The Holiday season looms large before us here at WinstonPville but I’ll try to keep up my breakneck pace of posting to the blog.  Here’s hoping your holidays, assuming you are in the U.S., aren’t overly awful.

The coming winter season means I probably won’t be doing any cemetery visits until the thaw (not that I was jetting off to many recently; I’ve been to all the nearest ones so it is harder to swing in a quick jaunt with the homunculus).  I need to get back to updating my graveyard maps…

On the gaming front, I have a little news.  I currently owe two different people writing, both of which I’d like to get done as soon as possible.  Ditto for my revision of an article I submitted to the Unspeakable Oath, which definitely needs a rewrite… but that one does not have a pressing deadline.  I have also, slowly, been doing some research for an unannounced project… ooooh, nebulous!  Toss in a couple 1/4 baked ideas and some notes and you have my current gaming work in a nutshell.  No, I have no news about the Companion.  Sorry.

In other news, the members of Yog-Sothoth.com have taken up our annual ‘Secret Shoggoth‘ gift exchange.  I’ve entered, as usual, and look forward to seeing what I might get this year.  Always seem to end up with a good book to keep me entertained over the holidays.

Finally, good news from Cubicle 7: the long-promised Folklore sourcebook has emerged from the hazy fog “in development” into the land of “in layout”.

Here’s their video…

Which isn’t nearly as informative as the text description:

Cthulhu Britanica: Folklore presents a uniquely British vision of Lovecraftian horror where fairies, witches, and folk traditions intertwine with the dreadful, eldritch powers and otherworldly terrors of the Cthulhu Mythos. The book features:

  • A folklore bestiary, including fairy folk, shape-shifters, giants, little folk, black dogs, dragons, water horses, bodily horrors, and much more
  • A folklore calendar and a new 1920s profession—the folklorist—for players
  • Detailed sections on using folklore and folk magic for Call of Cthulhu Keepers
  • And nine Folklore Mythos threats that can introduced into any scenario or campaign, or used as single-session scenarios

Hopefully the behind-the-scenes staffing issues at Cubicle 7 have now finally resolved and they can get back to making high-quality Call of Cthulhu books.  I wonder what the status of some of the project they outlined before Angus Abranson and Sarah Newton departed.  I notice that that World War Cthulhu seems to have gone with the later to become Achtung Cthulhu… wither the London Boxed Set?  Perhaps I should email Monsieur Boon?

 

 

Leave a Reply

