NecronomiCon 2013; a few thoughts (part 3)

Where was I? (Part 1, Part 2)

Philatelists of the World, Unite!

Ah yes…  After listening in on the end of Adam Scott Glancy’s game, I took the opportunity to introduce myself and we spent a few moments chatting.  He filled me in on the near-future plans for Pagan and Delta Green, including plans to split the WWI book up into two parts and to fund it with a Kickstarter, the status of the stand alone Delta Green game, the minutia of Zeppelin warfare and the Far Eastern Republic.  Sadly our conversation had to end after a short while as he had places to be, like so many at NecronomiCon.  It is pretty hard to beat having one of the creators of Delta Green tell you that he really likes your scenarios.

I then joined in (with Keeper Murph of the Misk. U. Podcast) in a fun game of Feed the Shoggoth, a card game which ‘Badger’ McInnes (his credits, his blog) has been developing.  I’m not much of a card game guy, but I was very pleasantly surprised at how quickly I learned the rules and how much fun we had in our short game.  I don’t know if my impression was skewed by winning the game, but I do know that I’m looking forward to when he launches his Kickstarter so I can order myself a copy.

Since time has gotten away from me and it is over a week since these events passed, I  don’t clearly recall what I did next.  I think I popped back over the Biltmore briefly before I settled back in at the Providence to prep for my game that evening.  I do know that I shouldn’t have skipped dinner.  As six approached (the start time for my game) I was in a bit of a worry as the ballroom I was scheduled to run Machine Tractor Station Kharkov-37 had been reassigned to the good lads at HPPodcraft for their live show (which is sad since I’d backed the Kickstarter but couldn’t go due to being double-booked).  After some questioning of the Minions (the Con kind, not the yellow cross-promotional toy kind) I determined my game had been moved upstairs instead.

Good old Machine Tractor Station Kharkov-37.  So many dead Soviets… but I’ll save that for next time.

3 comments on “NecronomiCon 2013; a few thoughts (part 3)

  1. chadbouchard says:

    All sounds great, and you’re not even up to the part where you got to meet me. Just wanted to pop on to say that I also got a chance to play this Feed the Shoggoth business with Badger and Murph…what a solid game, eh? I’m also not a huge card game guy, but the rules sort of explain themselves, and I had a blast. I also quickly learned that Murph is a big jerk when he plays that game. Jeez.

  2. Brian Overton says:

    Looking forward to the next entry. There was some classic, in character roleplaying going on later that night…good group.

Leave a Reply

