What a year (part 3)

And we roll on…

Chaosium
The Phantom of Wilson’s Creek (print version) {Monograph}

Haven’t read it. Sorry.

Atomic Age Cthulhu

I might not have an overwhelming urge to run a game set in the 1950s, but I think this book makes a strong case for that era as a setting for Call of Cthulhu. Of the scenarios, I think my favorite is L.A. Diabolical; they are definitely better than the recent Chaosium average.

The House of R’lyeh

I read one of the scenarios before release (and saw another when it was in Different Worlds #37) but I’ve not read the whole book. Terrible title, since R’lyeh doesn’t feature into any of the scenarios.

Missed Dues and Other Tales {Monograph; sold only at GenCon}

I wasn’t at GenCon, so I don’t have a copy.

Dark Crusade {Monograph}

Perfectly serviceable introduction to the Crusader States for non-historians. I may have read most of the source material in Grad school, but I suspect I’m not the norm in this. It was nice to see some additional material for Cthulhu Dark Ages since, to be frank, there is more action in the Levant than back in 1000 AD Europe. I do wish there had been a scenario.

Canis Mysterium

I reviewed this one already.

Horror Stories from the Red Room {Monograph}

Don’t have it.

Secrets of Tibet {PDF}

Ordered but it has not yet arrived.

Dead Light {PDF}

Not a classic, but an interesting scenario.

Horror on the Orient Express, ver. 2.0 {PDF, proof copy only; Kickstarter backers only}

I was excited to get my backer link and have a peak at the 2nd edition. I’ve not read it from cover to cover… there’s been a lot to read lately… but I was happy with what I saw. I do miss some of the character illustrations (some of my favorites in any CoC book) though, and I cannot get behind releasing 7th edition books before the damn 7th edition rule book comes out.

All in all, that was a lot of books for Chaosium. I really hope they’ve turned a corner, having had two very successful Kickstarter campaigns and appointed Mike Mason to head the Call of Cthulhu line.

Tomorrow – a few more comments, since I can’t stop blabbing.

One comment on “What a year (part 3)

  1. Mark Morrison says:

    Thanks Bret, great 2013 roundup! And you’re right, Laurie Dietrich’s 1991 character art for Horror on the Orient Express was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

