Kind words from the antipode

The flag of New Zealand

Sorry for the lack of updates; I’ve been busy with day-to-day tasks, a vacation, and writing (more on the latter later).

First off, Tomes in Progress was given a very kindly mention on Unbound Publishing’s blog, the site for news from Marcus Bone, creator of the Unbound Book and Monophobia.  I do wonder what it says about the Lovecraftian RPG community’s pulse can be monitored by a blog that usually updates only a once a week. 🙂  I suppose a low pulse beat no pulse?  If nothing else, I’ve added a link to Marcus’ blog to the main page.  Since Marcus was the first person to publish any of my RPG work (the scenario “Baggage Check”), you should definitely check his site out.

Secondly, I did have enough time to listen to the latest episode of the Miskatonic University podcast; another interesting discussion including a review of Atomic Age Cthulhu, using VOIP technology in games, and even the Unbegotten Source itself, Ubbo-Sathla.

Lastly I’ve been working on a trio of submissions to the Unspeakable Oath- short fiction (done), a modern cult (done, but I think I can make it stronger), and a mysterious tome (incomplete, probably won’t make the deadline).  It’s hard to know what they’ll think about the fiction, as that’s the most subjective type of submission.  I do think the modern cult piece will be well regarded; it was one of the more difficult pieces I’ve worked on in a while.  I have the core idea clearly in mind but articulating it in a useful way very difficult.  Sorry to be cryptic, but I don’t want to give the piece away.  It’s probably one of the creepier things I’ve worked up, I just worry I’ve lost some of the impact with my writing style, or a failure communicate well with the reader.

Leave a comment